Standing with the Union

My father died over 20 years ago, having retired but 18 months before his death. In cleaning out some old files, I discovered a handwritten note he had prepared for his retirement “speech”. I don’t know if he used it, I wouldn’t know why he wouldn’t since upon retirement  his employer had no hold over him. His pension was administered by the Union.

He wrote, ” I wish to express my gratitude for this gift of tokenism [a clock] for my 25 years of service with [the Company] but I’d like to add that had it not been for the Union, I would never have made it.”

I am proud of my Dad.

Leave a Reply

